How to apply engine paint?

Tookey

I'm new to engine work;

Photos show brake pipes that were showing corrosion so I tidied them with 800 emery paper. I've bought some engine paint spray but I'm hoping for advice on how to treat the underside of the pipes please as I cant spray. Is a little paintbrush my only option?

Thanks

20210801_164248.jpg

If break pipes are corroded, replacement is best option.

Painting means they will look good in the accident photos.
And means they won't be checked at mot time....due to being coated (it'll be an advisory note to the effect of being unable to check)

Frankly IF original factory steel brake lines show signs of corrosion...
Just replace/have them replaced with copper/kunifer and have peace of mind....
After all its only your own and others safety at risk.

Last edited:
I'm pretty sure they are galvanised so rubbing them down is going to remove the protective zinc coat. I'm with Trevskoda here re waxoyl. I check mine every year and recoat with waxoyl as needed. If you don't fancy keeping a regular eye on them then replacement is for the best.

Keith

They definitely needed a rub so they could be properly inspected, I don't know what the lifespan of a zinc cost is but these pipes are in there 23rd year. I have made the decision to leave them untreated and therefore completely visible until someone at a garage inspects them

They definitely needed a rub so they could be properly inspected, I don't know what the lifespan of a zinc cost is but these pipes are in there 23rd year. I have made the decision to leave them untreated and therefore completely visible until someone at a garage inspects them
For what it's worth....
IF there is anything like pitting on them (highly likely after 23 years of exposure to road salt/etc)

Then even IF the only raise an advisory at mot time...
Replace them....

It's not an horribly expensive job....

And without being overly dramatic....