Battery Type

drewdt3

I am about to buy a new battery or 2, can anyone tell me if this has to be a sealed battery as it is going under my drivers seat or can it be otherwise?

Cheers

Drew

It does not need to be sealed. They should come with a vent tube which you would take through the floor to allow the gas created when charging to dissipate to free air

If it isn't the sealed type then make sure to ask for a vent tube, I have found they usually have them with an elbow to fit into the side of the battery but don't give you one unless you ask. You should then make sure that the pipe vents to the outside.

Dont buy cheap car batteries, they wont last, buy good leisure batteries, worth it in the long run.

Peter

Dont buy cheap car batteries, they wont last, buy good leisure batteries, worth it in the long run.

Peter

there is no such thing as leisure batteries they are just rebadged starter batteries with a price to match. i have been useing 2 lorry batteries for over 6 years now without any problems don't be conned by the word leisure.

Gordon, can you substantiate your assertion or is it an opinion?

Dont see the point in manufacturers using a different manufacturing method for a battery to work differently when all they need to do is change the badge, so you must no something different????

Gordon, can you substantiate your assertion or is it an opinion?

Dont see the point in manufacturers using a different manufacturing method for a battery to work differently when all they need to do is change the badge, so you must no something different????

even if it's an opinion then i support him as i too have a starter battery as a leisure battery no problems and have done for many yrs:).