Toilets in campervans - advice please

orcadia

Free Member
We've got a campervan and have no shower or toilet. I'm keen to do some wild camping. I've seen some solar showers but am undecided what to do about toilets. It would be great to get some advice from those who've been there, so to say. Do we buy a Thetford? Where do we store it in the campervan (which has very limited storage)? And then there's the practicalities of using it..... Toilet tent pitched outside? But then that's not really unobtrusive wild camping... How do others solve this problem?

It all depends on the size/model of your campervan?
I have a LWB H2 Renault Master and I fitted the shower/loo room into its own room between the rear wheel boxes. The loo is a Thetford cassette which for the 2 of us can last 3 days between flush outs.
555.JPGB4.JPGloo-2.JPG

You can carry a stand alone (should that be sit alone :LOL: ) toilet which can be stored anywhere it fits when not in use.

You can carry a stand alone (should that be sit alone :LOL: ) toilet which can be stored anywhere it fits when not in use.
Thanks, that's a really useful link.

We have been wilding over the years although we do have a shower on board we never use it. Instead we carry one of the large plastic tubs used in gardens. We fill it with hot water and stand in it and have a strip wash. (Put a cover on the floor first.) we do not use large domestic towels the are to difficult to dry. You will find that a large dry flannel will dry you very well.
Empty the tub outside when finished and then use it for general storage.Job done.(By the way do not forget to draw the curtains van)

Thanks, that's a really useful link.

I think Romahome use the Porta Potti for their small campers which don't have a separate washroom, if they work as well as the bigger Thetford's that should be a good choice, but I've never had one.