Habitation check

minxa

Hi Guys,

Forgive my ignorance but I'm new to this motorhome stuff, can anyone explain what a habitation check is please? :confused:

I've always thought its a rip off for what they charge, but if you dont get it done your conversion warranty will be void.

The only part of the check that is worthwhile is the gas pipework check and a damp check, the rest of it is padded out with checking lights, windows, and other simple stuff that you just as easily do yourself.
And for this they will charge you anything from £130 to £250.

So it only applies to conversions then???

I think the habitation check applies especially to the conversions (The van was previously a panel van) in order to inform the DVLA of change of use and for insurance purposes, and I think the check would mainly involve electric/gas and ventilation issues. With purpose built motorhomes from new this test would be compulsory, I would think;)

I can understand a check when the thing is built, but a yearly check? Do you have any links to information on this? I have never heard of such a thing.

Some brands add it as a sort of subscription; saying it is compulsory for the waranty (which is not).
They come in with sophisticated instruments to check the moisture, the gas- and water system .... Everything you can do yourself and safe yourself quite a lot of money. :eek:

habitation service.

i bought a rollerteam 600g from new,it comes with a 4 year dampness warranty.
the service booklet states that it has to have a habitation service every year.
and there are pages in the service book to be stamped by the servicing dealer.
i suppose if anything goes wrong with the water itegrity of the van, and i needed to claim the service book would need to be stamped and up to date.
live long and prosper:eek::)

Thanks underseige, I think that's what I was asking but not so eloquently