French Visas, anyone winged it and overstayed?

barryd

I am reading reports on another motorhome forum that some who applied and were succesfull previously in obtaining the six month French Visa are now getting rejections despite submitting the exact same applications and plans as previously. One I believe was a first timer, also rejected.

This is worrying as I was hoping to do this next spring. Anyone else had any experience of this or a knock back?

It led me to think I wonder if anyone has winged it and stayed four or maybe five months and what were the consequences if any? Its something I studied a lot before we left the EU and there are stories of third country nationals being fined up to £1000 for overstaying so its probably a bonkers idea but what are the real life experiences of actual motorhomers? It costs around £350 for two of you to get a Visa and its money lost if its rejected and the appeals process seems pointless. Its a major blow for us if true.

Of course I have no intention of breaking the rules as infuriating and frustrating as they are but just wondered if there was any real life experiences of someone either accidentally breaking them in a motorhome or on purpose and what were the consequences? I found an old thread from last year with a link to the Connexion which said you could face a fine of 198 Euros if caught in France. Well given that the Visa costs £350 and it looks like the French are now getting iffy about handing them out while still taking your £350 you can see how some motorhomers might be tempted to wing it. Not me of course.

If you intend to go for 6 months why not explore the surrounding none Schengen countries (sounds like China) for three of them, you could border hop and only go in when you need to.

If you intend to go for 6 months why not explore the surrounding none Schengen countries (sounds like China) for three of them, you could border hop and only go in when you need to.