Driving/Country Roads.

lenny

Dont know about you but I find the most stressful part of my travels is the negotiating of single track country roads, especially at night.
Even though I drive large vehicles for a living, I still feel stressed when I cause a convoy of impatient drivers behind me even though I feel as though I,m driving at the at the right speed considering the conditions, especially at bends in the road.
Am I just a nervous driver or do others feel the same??

i feel like you lenny when i have a lot of people behind me. but i just plod a long at at the correct speed limit or as conditions allow i want to get there safely. if they want to pass let themthey are the idiots not us. allan

in a hurry

I agree with that ,just keep an eye open for the stupid ones that overtake ay blind summits and bends.
If you nip into a suitable lay-by now and then and keep the convoy to a reasonable size,it helps with our M/H image. If there is no where to go into just drive at the speed you are comfortable with.
As an old caravanner I used to find I could cruise at 50-60mph
and would be nearly as quick as the speed merchants on a long trip.
Take a tip from the Truckers and be steady with your speed.

weez
Tony

Laybyes

Thanks Allan, also have you noticed the lack of decent length laybyes allowing you to pull in and let them pass.
I used to indicate left to let them know the road was clear ahead for them to pass but these days I,m not so sure cos all of a sudden you get some maniac travelling the other way at breakneck speed ,and should there be a collision ,I would feel responsible.
Maybe I,m just slowing down cos of age catching up on me??.

I agree with that ,just keep an eye open for the stupid ones that overtake ay blind summits and bends.
If you nip into a suitable lay-by now and then and keep the convoy to a reasonable size,it helps with our M/H image. If there is no where to go into just drive at the speed you are comfortable with.