what can you run on solar?

Julie798

Hi

I am totally new to camping, and I would like to try to understand the electric side of things, if one has a solar panel, what can they run, i have been told that you can run a small tv (7 inch) but not really anything else, so am I correct in thinking, if you dont buy a big generator, you cant run a microwave, kettle, slow cooker, sky dish with tv etc, we are hoping to camp on the aires etc, but I am getting conflicting advice, and I am not hard to confuse LOL.

Not going to go technical

Go to the "Search" button above and enter "Solar Panel" .There is a wealth of information.

Hi

I am totally new to camping, and I would like to try to understand the electric side of things, if one has a solar panel, what can they run, i have been told that you can run a small tv (7 inch) but not really anything else, so am I correct in thinking, if you dont buy a big generator, you cant run a microwave, kettle, slow cooker, sky dish with tv etc, we are hoping to camp on the aires etc, but I am getting conflicting advice, and I am not hard to confuse LOL.

Hi. I agree with Shortcircuit that it's probably best to do a search first, and then come back with more specific questions, as it's difficult to fully answer without getting technical.

One point I would like to make, is that solar panals are used to charge your batteries, rather than power equipment directly, and the batteries used either direct to power 12V items or to power an inverter for a 240V supply.

From a personal point of view, that unless you regularly park up for several days at a time they are probably not worth fitting. Even the amount of charge supplied by a 80W panel (the smallest most seem to agree that is useful) in a day, will be matched by about 10 - 15 mins of charge supplied with the engine running.

Hope this helps a little, and ask away on anything you don't understand as I'm sure some one will try to answer.

solar panel