tv question

J&A

hi all

just bought a 15" lcd tv and dvd from asda, it is made by onn, spec on the ac adapter is input 100-240v~50/60hz 1.7a. output:12.0v-5a.i already have a 12v socket in my motorhome, so am after some advice as to the make up of the lead, i.e two pin plug, what cable to use, does it need to have a fuse inline, or can you buy these cables already made up.
many thanks
Andy.

In answer

Hi, sorry you have lost me, If the TV can run of 12v did you not get a power pack with it.
If you have the small round elec socket try maplins, they will sell all the fittings you need and are very helpful.
terry

Last edited:
I'm no expert but have read topics such as this on several forums.

Apparently the output from a battery can fluctuate so you may well need to build a regulator into the circuit. I understand that TVs which are designed for running either off the mains or battery have one built in for when they are run directly from the 12v system.

The mains power pack that came with your set will be built to provide a regulated 12v output.

Graham

tv

We have bought exactly the same tv, and are running that and the sky box, through a invertor.

hi all

just bought a 15" lcd tv and dvd from asda, it is made by onn, spec on the ac adapter is input 100-240v~50/60hz 1.7a. output:12.0v-5a.i already have a 12v socket in my motorhome, so am after some advice as to the make up of the lead, i.e two pin plug, what cable to use, does it need to have a fuse inline, or can you buy these cables already made up.
many thanks
Andy.

Hi Andy

Your TV will work directly from the 12v socket in the van and you can buy the leads or a selection of parts to make your own from Maplins .

Having an inline fuse in the cable would be advisable but I dont think absolutely needed .

Just one word of warning UNPLUG the tv everytime you start your engine

There will be a spike in power from 12v to +14v when you start up and this will fry the circuits in the tv

Steve