Lead crystal batteries ?

suneye

Hi I need to replace my leisure battery in in my self build van. I can't justify the expense of a lithium battery but am interested in a lead crystal battery or lead carbon, price wise they fall between an AGM battery and a lithium one. There are some bold claims made for them but at the price don't want to make a mistake. Has anyone any experience of these?

Last edited:
With the falling price of.lithium it makes battery choice difficult .the weight advantage lithium is a big plus .check. lithium at alpha batterys

Are Lithium batteries so good that the cheapest of the cheap will still be better than a good lead battery?

Charging in cold weather rules them out for where i live about 4 mths of the year, i rather just add a extra lead acid than bother with all the crap to run lithium.

We have solar no ehu which isn’t always kind to batteries especially this year when there has been a lot of not being used

I have no personal experience of them but I do remember somebody posting on a boating forum that they did require a quite fussy charging regime.

Sorry I can't be more specific as I can't find the post now, but it might be worth googling the charging requirements.

We have solar no ehu which isn’t always kind to batteries especially this year when there has been a lot of not being used
From what I've read lead crystal requires charging short high current charging, not long low current, but then I'm no expert on batteries.

Yes I've done a bit more digging and there does seem to be a question about charging, am trying to find out a bit more about the lead carbon one's. These seem to put up with inconsistent charging, last longer, less sulphation but still come in under £200 for a 100ah . Might be worth a risk?. I don't know how old the one in the van atm is as it came with the van but it has suffered from all the lack of use and charging with this years staying at home.