insulation

ricc

im thinking about lining and insulating my w reg lwb semi high top transit. its currently got ply lining to waist level with bare metal above. im intending lining with thin ply above the existing ply. im asuming there no insulation behind the existing ply so that will have to come off and be refitted.. question is what insulation to use, ive got some 2 inch 8x4 sheets of polysyrene and some fibreglass loft insulation that i could use.
thinking long term its possible the bottom of the van will need welding at some point.... anything poly/ plastic will obviously burn ....but fibreglass can/will hold water if it gets vwet and lead to rust.

whats the expert opinion?

I'm no expert re van insulation but have used insulation on a "temporary/non-standard construction" build, and we used silverbacked polystyrene (it felt like the temperature increased 10 degrees as we did it)....you could also use the lambswool stuff, or even compressed paper that you can get in some places now

Kingspan or celotex boards are used fairly commonly for self builds. Its what I've used.

I have a ply lined Hi Roof Tranny, I've used silver bubble wrap loft insulation (2 layers so far, might do another layer) on the metal roof, camping mats (2 layers) & carpet on the floor, raw sheeps fleece (from local farmers, washed a couple of times first!) behind the ply in the doors and planning to do same behind ply on sides, scraps of foam rubber stuffed into the roof ribs through little holes, and have stocked up on expanding foam to finish off all the nooks and crannies. Silver aluminium tape is good for taping the silver bubble wrap stuff together (spray glue to stick it to the metal), and also for any odd bits of exposed metal ie door bottoms and tops and sides.