Gaslow system filling very slowly

northman

Hi there. My newly installed `Gaslow system worked fine when I first filled it and only took (from memory) 27 litres because it was the first fill. Since then it has refused to fill at a reasonable speed (15 minutes today to put in 3.5 litres!). Has anyone any idea why this is happening. The bottles (2 x 15K) are switched off as instructed. I am going to France next week so need an urgent solution.

The refill time slows down dramatically once you reach the 80% fill level. If you keep the button pressed it will still trickle in, albeit very slowly.

From what you described you were already very full.

I have very little experience of these systems, having only topped up a underslung tank once, but my first thought would be a partly blocked filter.

I’ve got one of these wee gizmos its came in handy a few times.

I’ve got one of these wee gizmos its came in handy a few times.

I just look on my phone ;-)

Screenshot_20230427_224507_Tank .jpg

They don't have a filter on them. It's a stainless pipe to a filler on the tank. Both tanks are probably full. The guy where I go said when they slow down they are usually full. By keeping your finger on the button you are just forcing gas passed the stop valve. If you are not sure take the bottle out and weigh it.

The Gaslow tanks have gauges on top so it should be easy to check if full.

Well mine do anyway.

Did you lock the gas nozzle trigger onto the filler point and then press the fill button?

Probably a teach a chicken to lay eggs situation as you have filled before so you are familiar with the routine.

If you don’t lock the nozzle trigger and hold it open manually whilst at the same time pressing the fill button this can slow the fill.