Finding my way back to the UK in the next week from Nice in France

Mobilvetta

Hi, I'm a little bit concerned, I met a fellow motorhomer today who says a lot of the passes through France are blocked if I didn't want to use the toll roads, were not sure yet whether we will be sailing from Calais or Zeebrugge, so we need to get to that vicinity. He said he came down to Nice through Germany and Switzerland and has covered about 1600 miles doing so. It's my first time in a motorhome, so I'm rather concerned, I was hoping to head towards Lyon when we leave Nice, I was going to set my satnav to avoid tolls as I have been told they are expensive if your motorhome is over 3.5 ton, mines been updated to just over 4 ton. Be grateful for input from experienced motorhomers who have covered this route as to what our best options will be.

You should be OK with Classe 2 tolls in france even though you're over 3.5t . But that adds up too
see https://www.autoroutes.fr/FCKeditor/UserFiles/File/ASFA CLASSE VEHICULE BD.pdf
I always have been ok at 4.1t and classe 2

Just done the Michelin route planner from Nice and it looks like the best option is to come back down to Marseille and then use the toll roads upto Lyon, from there we could probably get away from the toll roads and use other routes towards Paris, unless there are more mountain passes in our way.

we are in Girona, Spain and will be heading for a Zeebrugge ferry crossing mid April, you should have no problems travelling from Nice. We use a mixture of toll and non toll roads. it is worth paying the toll fees to get around the major cities, sometimes it is free around them. If you have the time, use non toll and take it easy, there are plenty of stop over opportunities along the way. We use ********** and have just spent our 90th night and only been on a site once.

I've just had a look on google and by their routes you'll save 5 hrs driving using tolls which is quite a saving on fuel. So that'll help off set the toll costs