Ferry Prices

John H

When we came over the Channel in September last year, it cost us £38 for our 7 metre motorhome (Dover - Dunkirque). I've just booked the return journey with DFDS (Calais to Dover) for mid-April @ £24.50! I looked up the P&O price for the same route on the same day and it was £52. Can anyone make any sense of this? How on earth do ferry companies fix their prices? Not that I'm complaining about £24.50!

Bloody h*ll John that is cheap :boat: what do you drive a romahome ? :lol-049:

No, McLouis Glen - 7 metres long. All prices via the Caravan Club - its one of the few reasons to be a member of that bloody organisation!

Re; Ferry prices

I live on the Isle of Wight and the ferry over here is much more than that!
As I'm a resident though I do get a slight concession and if you are prepared to travel in anti-social hours you can get a much better deal.
We normally get a late sailing (11.45ish) for 15 quid, then park up in the New Forest (again we've found a quiet spot!), then carry on in the morning.
By the way anyone visiting the Island can fill up with water at my house anytime!!

Hello
We usually travel DFDS to Dunkirk but the last trip we went DFDS Dover Calias
Can't remember the name of the vessel but it was an absolute shed. Threadbare carpet, broken windows,curtains hanging off, tiles lifting in the cafeteria area,and it was difficult to find a seat that was not stained and ripped. I shudder to think what the kitchens were like but I would not have bought any food.
P & O was £5 dearer and if I had known what the DFDS vessel was like I would have paid the extra £5.

Blue Skies

Last edited by a moderator:
Hello
We usually travel DFDS to Dunkirk but the last trip we went DFDS Dover Calias
Can't remember the name of the vessel but it was an absolute shed. Threadbare carpet, broken windows tiles lifting in the cafeteria area,and it was difficult to find a seat that was not stained and ripped.