Electricity Supply

Daniel

Hi all,

Please bear with me cos I am a novice. My partner and I have recently bought our first van (a self build Transit LWB). We are planning a long trip around Ireland so we will be doing an awful lot of wild camping.

The van appears to have a 60ah starter battery connected to a leisure battery (I don’t know the ampage of the leisure battery as it doesn’t say, it is a larger battery than the starter battery though). These batteries are connected to a ZIG CF9 charging unit. As I understand it they also charge when the engine is running.

I am planning on using a 300w inverter to power my laptop so we can watch DVD’s in the evening. I shall also use a 12v fan heater when the weather gets really cold.

My question is really how long should I expect the power to last when I am wild camping. Say for example I was parked up for 2 nights without running the engine or hook-up would the batteries last with me using the laptop each night through the inverter and using 12v lights and water pump etc.

Basically I am concerned because I haven’t got any of the following, a generator, solar panels (neither of which I can afford) or a battery charger. I am hoping my batteries will stay charged due to driving around and the occasional hook-up over the summer months. Does this sound feasible?

Any help/advice greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Daniel

economize

Hi Daniel,
It is feasible; but you'll have to economize your electrical consumption.:confused:
e.g laptop: when using an inverter you go from 12 V (battery) > 240 V (inverter) > 18 - 19 V (laptop adapter). The inverter and the adaptor are both consuming. Buy a simple adapter 12 > 18 - 19 V for your laptop (you have also a more stabilized power input - and they are cheaper than a 240V inverter). Moreover you can have the laptopbattery charging while driving.