Clean water tank

baldeagle690

Hi all

After cleaning an old water tank feeding the sink I'm ready to put it back in. I'm new to this game but remember water going smelly and horrible when I was a kid. After going away the weekend what is the deal with the water tank. It would be a lot of hassle tho remove it and empty it fully, and the pump would never get all of it out. If I didn't use it for a couple of months what would the water be like?
I guess I'm missing something......................

Help

Before you put it back, modify the bottom of it by putting a new drain point in. Usually the drain is on the side near the bottom. Fit the new one on the base and make it a bigger diameter to drain quickly, which will help to flush any rubbish out.;)

I never drain the tanks and in fact fill them right up using potable water when returning from a trip. Occasionally empty the tank and then refill before using it again if it has been a long time.

Exception would be if the tank walls were not light-tight because then algae would probably start growing after a few months.

Even if all water can't be drained, you can always sterilise the tank using plain household bleach, empty and refill from a good supply and you will have no problems.

In Winter, water causes expensive damage to vans. You should always drain down. Sometimes water can remain in small pockets (in the pump or behind a non return valve. This can crack pipework or damage seals.

If I am not using the van for weeks at a time, I do the following:

When you are thinking of having a trip, put about one quarter of a tank of water mixed with Milton sterilising fluid in, have a short drive to slosh it about and pump the mix through the pipes as well when you get back. Drain it off.