Carrying Tandem on bike rack

colpot

Spent Sat Night at Horsley C&CC site and had a good night by the lake.:) We have decided to try to carry our Tandem on the back of the Hymer and wondered if anyone knows if its lawful to have the wheels sticking out either side of the body of the M/H. :confused:Its only by a couple of inches each side (or will be when I finish modifying the bike rack!) and obviously the mirrors stick out further than that.
I can remove the front wheel but would like the stability of having both wheels secured:)

Thanks Solwaybuggier

Sorry I'm sending this as PM but my account for some reason is not letting me post and Admin hasn't yet responded. If you want to quote this reply feel free.

I belong to a powerkite forum where there was a recent thread about "side overhang" when carrying kite buggies on rear racks - the following response may be useful:

From my recollection of the law when I was a Traffic Police Officer, and from consulting a recent copy of "the Traffic Officer's Companion' the load forms part of the overall width of the vehicle if it is not on a separate trailer. So you can have stuff sticking out sideways as long as it doesn't exceed the total permitted width for the type of vehicle, which in your case is 2.55m (Reg.8, Construction and Use Regs 1986).
However, you also need to take into account the effect that a wide overhang may have for other road users, particularly if it not marked in any way, i.e a pedestrian/cyclist etc may assume that your vehicle is the normal with and not see the tyre.
Police will fall back on a second reg. covering Dangerous Vehicle (Reg 100). I'll give you the full text:

A motor vehicle, every trailer drawn thereby, and all parts and accessories shall at all times be such that no danger is caused or is likely to be caused to any person in or on the vehicle or traier, or on a road, by reason of:

condition or unsuitable purpose

number of passengers

manner of passengers carried