Cameras at Spanish Stop signs and merge junctions

Well don’t drive through a STOP sign then!

The merging white line cameras are the ones more likely to catch us especially when filtering into traffic on ring roads. It’s all about gap timing and managing speed and sometimes if you don’t attempt to filter until the broken line you have to slow down and then you become a hazard as you then have to move over into faster moving traffic.

But useful info so thank you for posting.

This is one of the Spanish regs that causes a lot of us brits problems. We are taught in driving lessons to approach give way lines slowly and glide into first gear and proceed if clear. When we first bought our rural property out there, came across several junctions where there is a filter to turn across the carriageway with a halt sign at the end. Even if you can see there is no traffic approaching, still stop. You never know who is watching. Become second nature now. (y)

I was a driving instructor for a few years back in the late seventies. Pupils were taught that at a stop sign they needed to stop, apply the handbrake and, if necessary, engage neutral. If it was a give way, then approach slow down and if feasible turn onto the main road. If the main road was busy, then, handbrake and possibly neutral.

Problem was, at my local test centre, there were two examiners. One would criticise a student for unnecessarily stopping at a give way sign. The other, who always looked nervous, expected pupils to stop momentarily, so it was necessary to brief students when the examiner appeared and called the name of the person taking the test to tell them which course of action should be followed.

I also count to three at stop signs especially when in France. It is a practice which also has the potential to avoid an accident with a cyclist or motorcyclist since you have more time to notice movement.