Battle with Insurance Company

David & Ann

My Motorhome was burnt to the ground/Arson. That's history. I valued it at £18000. The Insurance offerd only £7000. I declined and sent them Bills and receipts of all the improvements I had done in the last 12 months, valued at at£10500.
They came back this morning with another offer of £11000. I am prepared to except £14 to 15000. They refused. Advice please- Do I except or keep fighting. I have been on the net and searced for the equivalent, I keep coming up with around £17 to 18000.

Really sorry to hear about your plight.

I have had no experience, but gut reaction says decline and have another go at them.
If you get nowhere can you then go back and accept the 11000?

All the very best to you both
:( :( :(

Hi David & Ann. Sorry to hear about your compensation problems with your Insurers? However. The perceived value of the additions and repair/replacements and improvements your have made perhaps do not reflect on the original value and cost of your Motorhome. What value did you place on the Motorhome when you Insured it?

oh dear i am sorry for you,not good news for you...id be inclined to push for a better offer & maybe get a solicitor involved or at least threaten them with one but saying that im not experienced in this field as iv never had to make a claim..i agree with jsw though that what you have spent on it doesnt reflect the real value (recently my brother was selling his impreza & he wanted a lot for it as he'd spent £7000 with extra's & keeping it in prestine condition..all he got was book price,what it was worth) i hope you get a better offer..keep us posted sammx

They are only an insurance company, & most of them have a very adjustable morality.
Reject the offer, they are hoping you are not willing to fight a large org. that is out to intimidate you. Many are not & cave in....& guess who gets the bonuses?