Agism or Sexism Getting Insurance

Kontiki

That time of year again! As we only have the one vehicle & both of us have no claims bonuses we tend to alternate at least every couple of years to keep both active. I have 16 years, the wife about 12, I hadn't had insurance for 2 years so decided to get it in my name. Our current insurer Comfort wanted over £100 more to put policy in my name?? Same details except for whose name on policy, I'm 76 wife 72. Had to use comparison sites & found pretty much the same, I could nearly always get the insurance in the wife's name cheaper. I have 58 years driving experience, wife 46 years. Got insured in the end cost £364 about the same as the wife's renwal with Comfort (quote for mine was over £500 with them)
Wanted to keep both no claims as we are considering getting a car.

Nearly all my no claims were earned on motorhomes/campervans, the wifes earned on cars. Used comparison sites to get quotes. Some did ask how the no claims was earned.
Even if they don't use the no claims doesn't explain difference between me & the wife.

Nearly all my no claims were earned on motorhomes/campervans, the wifes earned on cars. Used comparison sites to get quotes. Some did ask how the no claims was earned.
Even if they don't use the no claims doesn't explain difference between me & the wife.
Does being over 75 , possibly , bump up your premium ?
You may never have had an accident/claim in your life but if their stats say people of 75+ are more likely to make a claim they charge accordingly