WildCamping - Electrics

hairytoes

As you may deduce from my dumb questions, I am in fact a complete Newbie!

Here's the latest offering:

When I am not connected to 240v, (which I intend to be for most of the time) do I need an inverter to run the laptop (watch the odd movie, upload pictures, connect to net if any WiFi).

Laptop is an IBM T42 Thinkpad. Input 100-240, Output 16v

If I can get 12v appliances, such as kettle - do they come with a cigarette lighter attatchment?

I doubt I'll use much leccy, I have a 80w solar panel & 115a lesuire battery, the lighting is flurescent tubes (8w, each). The water pumps are electric & I'm not sure about the water heater (hopefully on gas).

Is it just a case of going away for a few days to see what happens, or is there a method of predicting your consumption v's production of electricity?

I understand the laptop can be charged via the alternator with a maplins 20 quid charger.

Bit long winded & fragmented, apologies in advance - I'm not really all that technical, but I'm hoping to learn!;)

Hi there

An inverter is a useful piece of kit to have onboard if you are not plugged into the mains!! It sounds like your covered for keeping your leisure batteries charge up through you solar panel.. Working out the rough electrical consumption of you appliances can be reasonably straight forward by the following; Voltage X ampage = Wattage and consequently Wattage divide by voltage will give you the ampage.....

So if you add up the ampage consumption of the 240v appliances that you want use on a regular basis whilst not plugged into the mains 240v you should be able to work out what size inverter you need. i.e If you use TV (2amps), Satellite (2 amps) and the kettle/microwave (4amps) total 8 amps ( 8A X 240v = 2000W) you'll need a 2000w inverter. Remember you may not have to use all at the same time so you could just switch them on and off when needed. If you’re watching the telly, boil the kettle using gas!!!