Wild Camping on NC500

• Thread starter Deleted member 66363
  • Start date

Deleted member 66363

Hi Folks
I am a newbie on this site and looking for information regarding the NC 500 which I will be doing with my wife in May.

I am looking for overnight stops along the route , but wish to avoid commercial campsites if at all possible.

Could anybody who has done this trip recommend stops and their locations .

I am also looking for best locations for wildlife, seal, dolphin spotting.

All info welcome.

Thanks

Join as a full member and then you would be able to download the POI map and camping stops

Alf

Hi Folks
I am a newbie on this site and looking for information regarding the NC 500 which I will be doing with my wife in May.

I am looking for overnight stops along the route , but wish to avoid commercial campsites if at all possible.

Could anybody who has done this trip recommend stops and their locations .

I am also looking for best locations for wildlife, seal, dolphin spotting.

All info welcome.

Thanks

To be perfectly honest, yes, joining the forum as a full member will give you access to as many poi's as you could ever hope for, but without knowing what size of van you have etc. then many might not be suitable for you.

I wander around the NC500 most years and there is such an abundance of places to stop over for a night or two that you really don't need to look hard.

The one thing I do like to point out, though usually unnecessary, is, please, use the passing places properly when you meet oncoming traffic (or for letting other pass you) on the single track sections of road.

1. If you are travelling DOWNHILL, ALWAYS give way to traffic coming up the hill ... it's easier for you to do a hillstart going down!
2. If the passing place is on your left, you pull in and let the other vehicle have right of way.