Stupid question?

goldsych

Hi.
I'm brand new to all this mularkey. Having had a static caravan for years I'm seriously getting hooked on the idea of one day (soonish) getting a campervan. I fancy a coachbuilt, rear louge type.
Anyway - my stupid question is. Is it legal to sleep in the bed in a campervan/motorhome when the driver is driving????????
(Must be brilliant to wake up in another country!)

Thanks very much for any replies.

Zzzzzzzzz

I do not know if it is legal or not but last August, when travelling overnight from Yorkshire to Tenby, we put the rear bed up (8' x 6' 6") for our three youngsters (9, 7 & 4 at the time) and they slept through our 8 1/4 hr journey! Saves a lot of " Are we nearly there yet?" earache and as you said... they woke up parked by the beach in a different part of the country... Wonderful!

I don't know the actual answer, but I'm sure it will include the words 'passenger' and 'seat-belt'.

If you can strap them in their beds you're probably OK (now that sounds like a good idea anyway!)

Must admit I've thought about it on a long motorway journey when womaninahat is driving.

maninahat said:
I don't know the actual answer, but I'm sure it will include the words 'passenger' and 'seat-belt'.

If you can strap them in their beds you're probably OK (now that sounds like a good idea anyway!)

Must admit I've thought about it on a long motorway journey when womaninahat is driving.

Dont see how you can bring seat belts into it as a lot of camper vans do not have seat belts in the back, wouldnt it be safer for som1 to fall asleep on a made up bed rather than a bench type seat?

I don't care if it's illegal or not, I always have a kip in the back when the chauffeur is driving, talk sport normally sends me off to sleep in minutes ;)

Straps....

Now ... I wonder if it is illegal to strap someone to the bed??? ;¬)

no difference if lie or sit in eyes of the law