Lengths of time wildcamping

salgarfi

Hello All,

I'm a newbie and I've got a simple question. In the US of A, people can wild camp on government lands - Bureau of Land Management and Forestry Lands, and they can stay (I believe) for two weeks before they're obliged to move on. Of course, in the wilds of the southwestern deserts people can probably, and do, stay much longer. In the UK, I presume that a wild camper has to move on after a couple of days, but are their places on the continent where you can stay (wild camp) for a week or more? In all honesty, I find the idea of being able to pitch up in a relatively isolated place for a week or so, much more attractive than moving on every day or every other day.

What are your experiences?

Thanks,

Sal

I get bored with the scenery after 2 days no matter how beautiful it is and need to move on

I think it depends where it is. If your away from housing, not taking up space in a spot thats frequented by others and space is at a premium then I see no reason why you couldnt stay more than a couple of days. Generally for us five to six days is the max we would ever stay in a wild spot either here or on the mainland. I dont really like the idea of just staying one night which is basically just travelling so I like to find spots where I wont be a nuisance to others. It is easier on the mainland in Europe in places like France, especially up in the mountains or more remote areas but Mainland Europe of course also has thousands of Aires, Stellplatz and Sostas etc which are dedicated motorhome only stop overs many of which are free or low cost so I find we do a mixture of both. We prefer the wilds and mountains so finding a place on your own where you can stay a few days or longer isnt that difficult.

I did a little video a while back called wildcamping Gems. Mainly mainland Europe but also a few from the Scottish Islands. Might give you an idea of the sort of places I mean and like.