leisure battery going flat

wildandwelsh

my leisure battery doesn't seem to hold its charge when it is not in use although it is actually charging up ok. It is a real pain. Has anyone else ever experienced this and discovered where the charge could be leaking to? I am new to this game and because I have nnot any technical expertise (although I am trying to learn!) these little things worry me. Every time I want to go anywhere the leisure battery is flat! thanks. Penny

Hi,Penny, Try disconnecting your leisure battery when not in use to see if this makes a difference. Most auto spares shops will do a battery check up for free.

It will be something really easy to fix or..............

Try all the simple things first - all lights off, fridge switched over to the 240V position, water heater off, etc. Try disconnecting the battery and listen for a "click" of a solenoid opening (power off), its possible to have a solenoid in the power on position and taking power all the time, someone may have fitted the wrong solenoid.

If you cant isolate the problem from the usual culprits above, then my guess would be the dual battery charging circuit is playing up. There is a little "black box" which controls the charging of the vehicle battery and the leisure battery (vehicle battery reaches full cahrge then the leisure battery charges), when that fails it allows charge from the leisure battery to either flow back to the vehicle battery or to some other power consumer on the vehicle circuit (rather than the camper circuit). Time for a visit to an auto electrician.

Thanks Roger, I will scribble down what you have said and pay a visit to the battery today. I am taking it on a long run up to Santa Pod on Friday so that should ensure the batteries are fully charged.

I know that nothing in the van is switched on but I need to understand more fully how both batteries work together. Hope it doesn't come to an auto-electriciian though! cheers. Penny