A few electrical questions

mrblitz

My long overdue conversion is nearing completion.

I am currently wiring 'er up.

I worked as an electricians mate for a while and will eventually have him come and cast his eye (and his testing equipment) over my work. I worked 100% in domestic and commercial 230v installations and 12v, although similar in many ways, has got me questioning myself. With regards safety and quality of my install so far, i have been very careful to ensure i have installed drop-outs and vents in all the right places, and have made sure that all the right bits are sealed from the living space and combustibles are not where they don't want to be!!

Some background on my system thus far. I have a sterling Alt to Batt. charger to charge my engine battery and leisure bank when on the move and a charger built in to my distribution board to charge my leisure battery when on hook-up. The sterling works as a split charge diode.

Most of the 12v appliances are wired through the three fused switches on my distribution board. All lights through one, all fans and pumps through another, 12v sockets on a third. I may or may not get a seperate 3 gang 15a switch board to split the 12v appliances further. I have a 300w inverter. My fridge is also wired through this board for mains only.

I have thought about it and have decided not to have a fridge relay. I understand all the benefits, but cannot see the point if i have to switch the fridge manually between 230v, gas and 12v why a relay would help in any way. Instead i am going to fit a 15a (or 25a?) illuminated switch through a 15a in-line fuse next to the input selector on the fridge control panel. The fridge is an old Electrolux RM212. I believe it draws 7a. I have just replaced the elements and the gas operation is good.