Wild camping for newbies

pan

Hi, I'm new to forums and I made a post earlier today and Andy suggested it would be better in general chat instead of where I happened to be looking at the time which was for wild camping sites in Gloucestershire.

Any way I explained that I am also new to campervanning and a complete virgin to wild camping. I hate large sites with loads of caravans everywhere so I'm attracted to the idea of wild camping.

However, my concern is that given that all we want to do is get away and relax and escape all that stress, is this possible when you have to cope with the possibilities of all sorts of nasty things happening?

I'd love to hear from all those seasoned, experienced wild campers.

PAN :rolleyes:

Hi Pan and croeso to wildcamping

as with anything these days we can not say it is totally safe but in 5 years I have had No problems at all
When you are out and about and choose a place to spend the night If you feel comfortable and safe then you probably are.
If you park in towns then it is less likely that you will remain unnoticed by the town 's unruly element.
I usually park in well out of the way places a long way from where boy racers or other's would be.
If I use a place in town then it will be after checking out the area and parking nose out for a quick escape.
all I have to do if there is a problem is lift the curtain over the front screen and press the throttle and I'm out of there.
I also have a notice that i have a loud alarm that goes out on the side if there is any doubt in my mind. and we have a dog who, whilst only small, sounds like a rottwieller.