Motorhome wild camping spots on and around Arran

• Thread starter Deleted member 87491
  • Start date

Deleted member 87491

Hi all, I'm a newbie here just after any ideas on some wild / free camping spots on and around the Isle of Arran, we will be using paid campsites also but would like to take in some wild camping too. There will be one small camper and one 3.5 ton motorhome, thanks in advance. T

There are lots of good wild spots on Arran. You will find them on the location map which you will need to be a full member to access. Enjoy Scotland in miniature👍🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

originally posted before Covid

On Arran you are spoilt for wild camping spots.
Heres what we do when we go over in the ferry three or four times a year.

First the breakfast on the ferry is fairly good and it sets you up.
At £7.95 inc coffee or tea its certainly no rip off.
Get a copy of the bus time tables from the ferry.
Brodick has a Coop supermarket, which is the largest on the island.

When you get off the ferry head north drive through Corrie and head for Sannox.
About half a mile past sannox on your right you will see a sign for pony trekking.
Take the single track road for about 1/3rd of a mile and you will come to the forresty commission carpark, with stunning views across the firth of Clyde to Bute and Cumbrae.
If you are feeling active from there there is a fine coastal walk to the fallen stones, or if you are up for it walk all the way to Lagg Cottage.
If you are really up for it you can walk all the way to Lochranza and then return using the bus.

Next head north to Lochranza, you will find somewhere to park up during the day.
There is a lay-by next to the church, but at night the carpark for the ferry to claonaig is empty and you can park up there.

Next head south about 4 miles to Thundergay. There is an excellent lay bye on your right about 200 yards before you come to the houses of mid thundergay,