how to go really wild?

jules

Hi everyone, I am very new to this, and just wondered what we need on board to be self sufficient. Hint tips etc!
We are planning to go with our 3 kids (2,5 and 8), for a month, probably down to cornwall from herts, stopping when and where we can wildly, and freely.
The van we are buying has a toilet and shower, fridge and seems well equipt. What advice can you seasoned travelers offer, any tips much appreciated!
Thanks and what a great site!
Jules:):)

Best advice might be to take it easy and learn the ropes in stages. Find somewhere close e.g. your backyard might be ideal, and spend two nights there and see what happens.
Even better, do it with another motorhomer who knows the ropes

Heading off for a month first-up is likely a recipe for a royally-ticked-off wife, unhappy kids and a stressed husband

Hi Jules

Maybe you should try a few days or a week closer to home - see what things you didn't need / things you needed

My advice would be to plan your route and stop overs - it's great finding your own spots but what if you can't?? Its good to have a back-up, somewhere you know is safe to park.

I take a list of suggestions from posts of this site, then if I can't find my own spot, I have something to fall back on and don't have to spend the day driving around in circles!

One of the main problems is overpacking...
After our first jaunt abroad for 6 weeks we found we didn't use half the clothes, tinned foods, Linen etc..
We used local Laundrettes [such as the one opposite McDonalds @ Biscarosse, great for me 'cos I spent 3 hours on the free wifi while the missus slaved over washing, WELL I do 99% of the driving :D ]
Regarding the Kids, when travelling,our grandkids will watch DVD's or play games on the Laptop, never hear a peep from them, except for "we need the next place with a toilet" As soon as we park up they're out looking around, checking the facilities and finding all sorts of wildlife and plants :)....