Gas Regulators

KenReay

Hi
Has anyone had any experience of the problem where gas regulators are blocked up with residue?. I have read sketchy information on Caravan Club site, and in various magazines. None of these articles really describe the symptoms, ie is it a slow deteriation of gas pressure, or a sudden failure.

I am a complete novice at the campervan life, having aquired my first van in August last year. The gas supply to the cooker has worked perfectly since that time on the four of five outings we have had. However on the last day (fortunatley) of our last trip, the Gas hob refused to light in the morning. I assumed we had run out of gas and switched to the second bottle. Still no luck. I then returned to the first bottle, and with the connector to the regulator removed, turned on the gas at the bottle. There was a healthy hiss of gas, so I assume the bottle is not empty.

Any ideas what the problem could be, and/or tips on fault finding?

Thanks

Ken

I believe your problem is oil in the gas from your gas bottle or LPG tank, clogging up you regulator.

I have had problems with LPG over the past 5 years, as we have a 60 litre LPG tank slung under the motorhome and we fill up on the forecourt.
Some European countries have more oil in the gas than others, The UK has just started to include more oil in the gas.

The problem is not with my regulator, as in your case but has the same problem because as I have been advised by industry experts, our tank is well away and below the regulator which only allows small amounts of oil through the system, so it doesn't effect my regulator (because of the tank position) but effects my Truma boiler valve. The oil in the gas clogs the gas opening in the valve and not allow the boiler to 'fire up'. Truma in the past have been replacing valves and also regulators under warranty. They have since discontinued the practice because they say it is not a fault of the their products, but of the LPG industry.