Gas - For Continental Use

KenReay

Hi

First I am a complete novice, so please do not assume any knowledge on my part.

We recently bought our first campervan (an "05" reg Compass Avantgarde), so far we have had three trips awy in the Uk, plus a two and a half week jaunt in France, getting as far south as Ceret.

Now to the question. I undertand that Continetal gas bottles, eg Camping Gaz etc use a different regulator to the Calor bottles we get here in the UK. The regulator is attached to the Van and has a hose which comes from the regulator to the bottle. How do we rig it up so that we can attach a "Continental" bottle, in the event that we run out of gas during our planned three month trip to France/Spain and where ever else we may end up?

I have asked this question of several fellow motor homers, but have not received a convincing and understandable answer, with talk of "pigtails" etc being the typical answer.

So can any of you seasoned travellers give a concise answer?

Thanks in advance.

Regards

Ken

camping gas containers in different countries

We were aggravated to find that indeed every country has a different bottle/cylinder and different regulator. Even Calor Ireland does not swap with Calor UK! CampingGaz [brand name] is the only universal type and costs 2 to 10 times as much, per kg, as 5 or 7 kg bottles of the local gas. Remember you want to swap identical bottles in lieu of actual refill of your existing bottles. There are a few places, unknown to me, that will actually refill a bottle and that is your best bet.
One solution is to take two or even three of the biggest local bottles that you can comfortably store, full, depending and ask at tourism offices for actual refill stations once you have emptied one. We dealt with NL IRL UK types and were advised that e.g France was different still.