foraging in April

wildman

give the apparent lack of food in the shops more people may be foraging than usual so I'll post my foraging guide for the month ahead, usually found on my FB page.
Wild food in April updated 2020

Medical Disclaimer

I am not a doctor or medical professional. The information given Is from many unverified sources. Please carry out your own checks.

Information given is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any

Disease. Statements do not claim to have been evaluated by any

Medical body anywhere in the world. If you are pregnant, nursing

Taking medication, or have a medical condition please consult a Doctor first

These notes are for foraging in the Northern hemisphere based on plants found in the UK most are common and widespread across Europe and the Americas. The southern Hemisphere has different seasons and different weather so some plants may never be seen. However additions are welcomed if someone has the time to add further notes in the comments, I shall then add them in a section at the end for inclusion next year.

Legal and moral notes. In some countries there are laws that ban foraging, al land is owned by someone remember to get the land owners permission. Do not collect more than you need or strip entire plants, a leaf hear and another there works just as well. Do not pick what you are not 100% sure of. Remember to leave some for the wildlife and also enough to regenerate next year. Enjoy the exercise.

Alexanders

Recipes for Alexanders

Here are just a few ways to prepare this wild food.

Fresh stems, flowers and leaves

To enjoy these as a fresh vegetable – similar to asparagus – try peeling the stems and boiling them for five to ten minutes, or until tender. Do the same with unripe flower heads, or eat them raw.

Larger leaves can be blanched briefly, while younger ones can be eaten raw.

Candied stems