A new private aire...legal hurdles

barge1914

We have a lot of knowledge and experience on this site. CAMpRA are starting to get enquiries from individuals interested in setting up new Aires on their property. Does anyone have detailed knowledge of the legal obstacles to be dealt with. Planning and highly restrictive campsite regs come to mind...possibly using certification process for 5 van sites? (Any input Phil?)

On the continent Aires often come under parking regs.. so I wonder about how to set up a private carpark for motorhomes? If anyone has direct experience of setting up an Aire themselves or know someone who has please PM me.

I've no personal experience of setting up an aire, but in terms of process there will be two routes. For small sites up to 5 vans the applicant will need to apply to one of the exempted organisations to be registered. The organisation will then approach the relevant Council regarding the proposal. In planning terms, it is treated as a consultation, eg is the site suitable in terms of access etc. If the Council object then the exempted organisation does not normally proceed any further. If the proposal is for more than 5 pitches then a formal planning application will be required for change of use of the land.

I am sure the organisers of CAMpRa will be aware of this but the C&CC publish information on how to set up a C. L.

I often think that rugby, football and other clubs together with community halls with a bit of parking would benefit from renting out portions of their carparks.

Davy

We were struck by the Freedom Camps in NZ, most were just very basic with just a long drop dunny type toilet and a water stand pipe, some were like a middling campsite. Many were on the outskirts of towns within easy walking distance, some were within the environs.