3/4 G External Aerial

witzend

3/4 G external aerial I've been using a Huawei B311 router successfully for over 2 years all over Europe and at home but this year is the first time we've been home at this time of year and over the last 2 mths my internet has slowed down, So would a external aerial help and what are You using that You'd recommend I've been looking at this type of aerial as the B311 only has one connector. Thanks for any Suggestions
And

I've had great success with a cheap and cheerful one like this...
I'm sure there are technically much better ones around but this has worked well for me.

I saw somewhere a Y cable that connected two antenna leads to one but no idea if they are any good. Give Solwise a shout and see what they say if not sure.
I wonder if on a device that dual antenna ports, you are able to just use one ok and leave the other unconnected?

I have an aerial but to be frank I find it makes little difference. I tried it out up at Rattigan (North west Scotland)'

Last edited:
I wonder if on a device that dual antenna ports, you are able to just use one ok and leave the other unconnected?

I used a dual antenna with only one connected and it worked fine, I had bought a dual antenna because I was planning to update my mifi in the near future

A bit of a minefield tbh.

imho the Best an external Omni aerial will get you is around 6dBi Gain.
Certain claims for cheap Chinese aerials at 10dBi are moot when they have 5m of cheap Aerial cable attached which loses more than the aerial gains....
Internal aerials for me don’t work either as I have a PVC van which is all metal plus the Blinds are in the main metal Backed so you are Effectively sitting in a faraday cage.

in the end i went for a external Poynting MIMO Aerial with short cables and get good reception on the mifi Device (netgear) when I get near zero on my iPhone inside the van.